Thursday, October 13, 2016

The Killing Game by J.S. Carol

TitleThe Killing Game 
Author J.S. Carol/James Carol 
Publisher: Bookouture
Release DateOctober 13, 2016

Imagine you are having lunch at an exclusive restaurant, filled with Hollywood’s hottest stars.

And a masked gunman walks in and takes everyone hostage.

You must bargain for your life against a twisted individual who knows everything about you.

He also has a bomb set to detonate if his heart rate changes.

If he dies. You die.

You have four hours to stay alive.

What would you do?

A heart-stopping thriller with plenty of twists and turns that will keep you on the edge of your seat, for fans of Peter Swanson, Harlan Coben and Linwood Barclay.

author James Carol writing as J.S. Carol

Amazon |  Google Play  | iTunes  | Kobo

‘When you get to the end, it’s not the things you achieved in life that you focus on, it’s all those things you didn’t do. All those missed opportunities. All those regrets. And the truth is that everyone’s got more than a few. Every last one of us. Let’s face it, nobody lies on their death bed and wishes they’d spent more time at the office. Nobody.’

The Killing Game had an excellent thread of suspense! It had me close to the edge of my sanity. I couldn't wait to find out how everything was going to unfold.  The author captures your attention from the first page and the action never ends. What better way to keep me hooked?

The novel begins with a group of well-known Hollywood VIPs enjoying a meal at the restaurant Alfie's. Alfie's is one of those restaurants where only the rich and famous make an appearance. Space is limited and the wait to get into can takes months or a lot of zeros in your bank account. 

One of the main characters is Jody Johnson better known as JJ. She's superb at her PR job. She specializes in making things go away. She's into damage control. She knows the business and if someone needs help cleaning their image she's the one you want on speed dial. She's smart and successful. She's also carrying guilty feelings from her past. 

Then, there is Alex King. He's the up and coming action movie star. He's at the restaurant on a date with the successful Simone.  JJ is his PR person and she's made it clear he must go out with Simone to create the next super couple since Brangelina was an item. He doesn't want to date Simone but he sees no other way around it. 

On the outside, we have reporter Rob Taylor and his boss at the TV station, Seth Allen. Both would do anything for a story and to keep ahead of the game. Keeping ratings high is all that matter to them. They are without scruples and they don't care if someone ends up dead as long as they get the exclusive. 

Last, we have the masked man who enters the restaurant with a gun and a bomb attached to his chest. This man, who is he? Is his motive money, notoriety or perhaps something else? When he starts shooting people you know this situation might not be survivable for any of them.

‘Those of you who can count will notice there are six of you standing there. Five of you will be going home very soon. Unfortunately, one of you won’t.’

Talk about an amazing plot with fascinating characters! I liked JJ. She was smart and tried to keep calm and analyze her dire situation to the best of her knowledge. My money was on her surviving.
Alex had tough choices to make and his doubts and imperfections made him likable too.
Despite how horrible human beings Rob and Seth were, I couldn't help but wish for them to stay ahead of the other stations.

If you like a well-written thriller that will capture your undivided attention, look no further. This one has it all. 

Cliffhanger: No

A complimentary copy was provided by the publisher via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

5/5 Fangs

No comments:

Post a Comment