Monday, July 31, 2017

An Earl for the Archeress
by E. Elizabeth Watson

An Earl for the Archeress

by E. Elizabeth Watson
The Ladies of Scotland #1 
Publication Date: July 24, 2017 
Genres: Adult, Entangled: Select, Historical, Romance

Desperate for coin, Lady Mariel Crawford enters an archery contest as a boy but despite her unmatched skill she loses in a tie to the intriguing, frustrating, and very handsome Earl of Huntington. Robert of Huntington seems like any other young philanderer and Mariel, fleeing a cruel father, trusts no man. Yet Robert proves to have a softer side that threatens her resolve to remain alone and unattached. 

When Robert bests a young woman at a tourney, his curiosity deepens when he realizes she is the daughter of the ruthless Beast of Ayr. And when he learns that Mariel’s father conspires with the Sheriff of Nottingham Robert is compelled to protect her. Even if it means lying. Even if it means the only way he can save her is by marrying her. He’s willing to lose everything to guard the Scottish wildling who has pierced his heart.


      Mariel didn’t realize she was holding her breath. She exhaled slowly, her heartbeat so loud in her ears it sounded as if it roared. She pulled her bow off her shoulder, her palms sweaty. Had she known that she would awaken to a raid on Nottingham, she might have had more time to prepare herself. True, she had perfected the art of being elusive, could shoot targets, and dodge animals. But never had she blatantly attacked anyone.

You are not attacking anyone now, either, she reminded herself. But Robert might. He swore no one would be hurt intentionally. But he also reminded her that, like any scheme as such, things could go wrong. She took in a steadying lungful of air, then released it, and withdrew two arrows, lodging them between her knuckles. One for the initial shot, one ready to nock should the first fail. She could lob them in quick succession.

E. Elizabeth Watson writes historical romance and lives on a mountain in West Virginia with her sons, husband, and various pets. With degrees in Archaeology and Anthropology, Elizabeth instead began pursuing a career in fiction writing after earning an Honorable Mention in the 2013 Texas Observer short story completion, and making it to the quarter-finals in the 2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest. Prince of Lions, was published in January of 2016, and Son of Ballymead, the sequel, followed in February 2017. One Scottish Knight, her first novella, was released at the end of April, 2017. Her first two traditionally published novels, An Earl for the Archeress, and Maiden’s Defender, will be published by Entangled July 2017 and November 2017.

No comments:

Post a Comment