Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Breaking the Ice (Juniper Falls #2)
by Julie Cross


Paperback300 pages

Expected publication: December 26th 2017 by Entangled: Teen


ISBN: 1633758982





The second book in the Juniper Falls series from NY Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Julie Cross, perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally and Abbi Glines.

Haley Stevenson seems like she’s got it all together: cheer captain, “Princess” of Juniper Falls, and voted Most Likely to Get Things Done. But below the surface, she’s struggling with a less-than-stellar GPA and still reeling from the loss of her first love. Repeating her Civics class during summer school is her chance to Get Things Done, not angst over boys. In fact, she’s sworn them off completely until college.

Fletcher Scott is happy to keep a low profile around Juniper Falls. He’s always been the invisible guy, warming the bench on the hockey team and moonlighting at a job that would make his grandma blush. Suddenly, though, he’s finding he wants more: more time on the ice, and more time with his infuriatingly perfect summer-school study partner. 

But leave it to a girl who requires perfection to shake up a boy who’s ready to break all the rules.








Breaking the Ice was such a feel good and romantic book. I really needed a "pick me up" type of book to put me in a sunny mood, and this was the perfect book. Breaking the Icehad romance, drama, family relationships, and self-discovery. There were so many wonderful story elements all weaved together in this adorable book.

I absolutely loved the two main characters in this book, Haley and Fletcher. They were both such dynamic and well-developed characters that I really grew to care for. They seemed like complete opposites at first, but it turned out that they had a lot more in common than I even thought. I really enjoyed watching their relationship blossom. The slow burn of their relationship was filled with angst and lust. The tug and pull of their romance kept me glued to the pages! I SHIP IT SO HARD!!! HALEY AND FLETCHER FOREVER. <3 

I feel like it is very easy for contemporary novels to get boring around the middle of the book, but I found this story to be entertaining from the beginning to the end. The charming characters and the drama in their lives continued to find ways to surprise me throughout the book. 

I really liked that the author included some mental health elements in this novel. I felt like they were presented in a well-informed way, even though I have not had any personal experience with those topics. It felt like the author really cared about these topics and wanted to make sure they were represented properly. I actually would have liked to see even more development of those elements throughout the book, but I was very pleased with what was presented.

Overall, this book was a charming and delightful novel. If you are looking for a fun and sweet romance to put a smile on your face, then this is the book for you!

4 / 5 Fangs

*This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * 

No comments:

Post a Comment