Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Trusting You and Other Lies
by Nicole Williams





USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Nicole Williams delivers a seductive summer romance worth swooning over. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Stephanie Perkins.

Phoenix can't imagine anything worse than being shipped off to family summer camp. Her parents have been fighting for the past two years--do they seriously think being crammed in a cabin with Phoenix and her little brother, Harry, will make things better? 

On top of that, Phoenix is stuck training with Callum--the head counselor who is seriously cute but a complete know-it-all. His hot-cold attitude means he's impossible to figure out--and even harder to rely on. But despite her better judgment, Phoenix is attracted to Callum. And he's promising Phoenix a summer she'll never forget. Can she trust him? Or is this just another lie?







Trusting You & Other Lies was a sweet coming of age story. This book had a cute romance, but it was nice that it actually took a backseat to the main plot of character development. I love romance, but I thought this other made a wise choice to have this story focus more on the main character and have the romance be on the side. 

The main character, Phoenix, was a sassy and headstrong character. To be honest, I really did like her at first. I thought she was rude, petty, judgmental, immature, and bratty. I was glad that throughout the book, especially near the end of the book, Phoneix had a change of heart. It was nice to see her mature and become more trusting and understanding. 

The love interest, Callum, was a swoon-worthy character! I loved getting to know him and learn about his backstory. I really liked how the author included his history because it showed what shaped him and made him into the man he was. His hot and cold attitude got on my nerves sometimes, but I definitely liked him as a whole. 

The romance in this book was very cute. I loved the banter between Callum and Phoenix. They were trying so hard to hide and deny their feelings, and it was funny to see them deal with that dilemma. 

I liked how this book discussed family bonds, love, trust, and growth. There were a lot of sweet moments and moments that were on the sad side. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants YA coming of age novel!




3 / 5 Fangs


*This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * 

No comments:

Post a Comment