Saturday, April 15, 2017

The Shadow Sister (The Seven Sisters #3)
by Lucinda Riley


THE SHADOW SISTER: Book Three by Lucinda Riley
Atria Hardcover | ISBN: 9781476759944| On sale: April 18, 2017 | 512 pages | $26.00
eBook: Atria | ISBN: 9781476759951| On sale: April 18, 2017 | 512 pages | $13.99



Star D’Apli├Ęse is at a crossroads in her life after the sudden death of her beloved father—the elusive billionaire, affectionately called Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted from across the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to her true heritage, and Star nervously decides to follow hers, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London, and the start of a whole new world.

A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in England’s picturesque Lake District—just a stone’s throw away from the residence of her childhood idol, Beatrix Potter—when machinations lead her to London, and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious society hostesses, Alice Keppel. Flora is torn between passionate love and her duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a larger game. That is, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life...






PRAISE FOR THE SHADOW SISTER:

“Riley’s engaging and mesmerizing story of self-discovery and love, while making the complex tale of the Seven Sisters sufficiently clear, can be perfectly read as a stand-alone… This book will appeal to readers of Edwardian novels and Jane Austen-style fiction. Fans of the series will undoubtedly be pleased with this latest installment in the ‘Seven Sisters’ saga.”
Library Journal (Starred Reviw)

“The frame story structure serves this installment well—the past and present narratives are equally engaging... Another pleasant jaunt down a genealogical rabbit hole.”
Kirkus Reviews

“I’ve loved the Seven Sisters series from the start and this is my favourite so far. Riley’s trademark lavish detail, glamorous settings and wonderful characters are all present in this treat of a novel. The perfect curl-up-in-an-armchair read.”
– Daily Mail (UK)

The Shadow Sister really is Lucinda’s best yet. The scope of this series is breathtaking and each book is more captivating than the last.”
– Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost

“Wonderful! Absolutely impossible to put down! The Seven Sisters books just keep getting better and better.”
– Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

“A deliciously twisting plot with clues cleverly paced along the way. I could hardly wait to solve the mystery of Star's origins. Thoroughly addictive storytelling with a moving, emotional heart.”
– Dinah Jefferies, author of The Tea Planter’s Wife

“The Seven Sisters series is proving to be a remarkable reading phenomenon.”
– Lancashire Post (UK)




TELEVISION SERIES

The Seven Sisters series has been optioned to be adapted for television by Raffaella de Laurentiis’s company Raffaella Productions. Daughter of legendary filmmaker Dino de Laurentiis, Raffaella has worked as a producer and studio executive in film and television for decades, including well-known projects like Conan the Barbarian and Conan the Destroyer starring Arnold Schwarzenegger, The Forbidden Kingdom starring Jackie Chan, Bill & Ted’s Excellent Adventure, and Dragonheart and its sequels.



I haven't read any book in this series before, but I am glad I took the chance to pick this book up! Even though I didn't read the previous books in this series, I didn't have a hard time following what was happening. This was such a magical read!

One of my favorite things about this book was the descriptive settings. The author's writing created such a lush and magical world. I loved how the author would be descriptive without creating info dumps. I felt like I was transported into the scenes, and I never wanted to leave!

I really enjoyed all of the characters. I was glad that author created a multitude of well developed and loveable characters. My favorite character was Star. She was more introverted and she had a big heart. I thought she was so sweet and easy relate to.

One of my favorite things about this book was reading the interactions between the characters, especially when they had hilarious banter. I loved how the author focused on family ties and what it means to be family.

The plot of this book kept me interested and entertained the entire time. There were some parts that felt a little slow, but I thought it was an addictive story overall. I loved discovering the twists and turns that the plot took. The author's skill for storytelling really shined throughout this book. I thoroughly enjoyed myself while reading this enchanting book.

Overall, this was a great read. I would recommend this book to anyone! I am excited to read more books in this series!

4 / 5 Fangs

*This ebook was given to me in exchange for an honest review. * 




via Boris Breuer

Lucinda Riley is the #1 internationally bestselling author of sixteen novels, including The Seven Sisters and The Storm Sister. Her books have sold more than eight million copies in thirty four languages. Lucinda lives with her husband and four children on the North Norfolk coast in England and West Cork, Ireland. Visit her online at LucindaRiley.comhttps://www.facebook.com/pg/Lucindarileyauthor/photos/?ref=page_internal







No comments:

Post a Comment